Connections FAQ 11/16/12

  1. What is the difference between following someone and adding them to your network? By following someone, you subscribe to that person and you see *all* the updates from that person in the activity stream (files update, comments in blogs, votes in ideation etc). When you add someone to your network, but don’t follow them, then you only see their status updates and nothing else in the homepage. My recommendation is to use Following as a filter. **Only** follow the people and content you are interested in. The more people and content you follow, the noisier it would be in the activity stream.  For example, I only follow 23 people as an example (my management chain and various of the VPs and Directors for the various projects).
  2. In the activity stream when someone posts a comment on someone’s post you would see their name on top of the post but the comments are below the post. Why are we doing this and is it part of a standard? The activity stream always highlights the person that took action on something. Since it’s the person that commented, you see their picture and then below you see a snipped of the action. Since the action is a comment on a status update, you see the photo of the original poster there. It creates consistency.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s